Skip to content

How do I remove a member account from my AWS Organization?

3 minute read
0

I want to remove a member account from my AWS Organization.

Resolution

Note: AWS Support can't remove a member account from an organization on your behalf for any reason.

Review the following before you begin:

To remove a member account from an organization, the account must meet all standalone account requirements. Complete the following actions before you migrate to a standalone account:

An organization might restrict you from removing a member account. If you get an Access Denied error message when you try to leave the organization, then contact the owner of the management account. The owner can remove your account from the organization for you. For more troubleshooting information, see Troubleshooting AWS Organizations.

When you remove a member account from an organization's consolidated bill, the member account becomes liable for all charges that account incurred.

Important: If a member account is closed (self-closed or closed by the management account) while still linked to the organization, the management account continues to be billed. This applies to any charges that the closed member account incurs. A closed member account remains in the organization during the 90-day post-closure period. AWS doesn't automatically remove it. During this period, the management account and the closed member account are jointly and severally liable for any charges. The closed account might still generate charges for resources such as Reserved Instances or Savings Plans. To stop consolidated billing for a member account, you must remove the account from the organization before you close it. For more information, see Close an AWS account.

Related information

Consolidated billing for AWS Organizations

Managing an organization with AWS Organizations

Closing a member account in an organization with AWS Organizations